Born in Rosenheim, Bavaria, Felix Biller started his musical education at the age of four. Throughout the years he tackled many instruments, such as guitar and saxophone, but piano always remained his instrument of choice and mastery. His classical training gives him an excellent technique; his eagerness to learn and think outside the box makes him search for new inspirations and opportunities for artistic development.

In High School he played in various formations, not only gaining experience, but also contributing to their repertoire. Performances in his hometown helped him to form his musical maturity.

Biller lives and works in Vienna, where he received a bachelor's degree in musicology at the university of Vienna, being followed by a master's degree in music management at the danube university Krems. Currently he studies jazz/pop-piano (bachelor) at the university of music and performing arts.

He is continuously working on his style and composing. Influences hearable in his compositions are the Swedish group e.s.t, the Neil Cowley Trio or Avishai Cohen and he draws inspiration from jazz, classical music, minimal, film scores or folk music. Virtuosic technique, his ability to match a minimalistic with a dynamic approach and ingenuity makes him a great performer and teacher as well. He combines these two aspects in his professional life, engaging in various musical projects, giving private piano lessons and teaching at the music school “Klangspiele”. Both performing and teaching allow him to not only improve his skills, but also work with people, which he highly enjoys.

He’s keen to work in other parts of the music industry as well: since april 2018 he is part of the organization board at the NYC Musikmarathon Workshop & Festival in Mattighofen, Austria.

In november 2015 he released two EPs on Bandcamp. He has experience in working as a session musician for soundtracks with the Austrian low-budget film “Hooker Patrol”. Various study trips to workshops like “Jazz bei Tulln", the jazzweek in Burghausen or the “Popkultur Festival Berlin” and regularly joining masterclasses from the likes of Iiro Rantala or Cory Henry widen his artistic horizon. He is fortunate to work and play with international musicians in diverse places around the world (e.g. New York, Istanbul, in Austria at Musikverein Vienna/Muth/Bösendorfer Salon/Musikwerkstatt Wels, in Germany at Weserburg Museum Bremen, in Czechia at the Jazz Brno Festival, in Slovakia at the ACF Bratislava, in China at DDC Beijing or Ningbo New Library etc.). His musical collaborations include artists and bands like Mel Verez, Dezier, Maham Suhail, the Tanja Paucanovic International Band, Philharmonie Vienna with Vijay Upadhyaya, Leaves & Cassis, Sebastian Hesselmann among others.

The project currently closest to his musical aspirations is the trio PRIM. In July 2016 they released their debut album “More & Less Diminished”, which was described as showing “how jazz in Austria can and should sound” (music-news.at). One year later (18th july 2017) they released the EP 40 Days. Invitations to festivals include the jazzahead clubnight Bremen, Jazz Brno or NYC Musikmarathon among others. A tour in china, funded by the Austrian Cultural Forum Beijing and the Austrian General Consulate Shanghai, followed in september 2019. The band was featured for instance in the Ö1 jazznight, radio Styrialounge, Radio Orange 94.0 or the Czech station Radio Proglas.

In may 2020 the trio will release their new album.

Felix Biller, geboren und aufgewachsen im bayerischen Rosenheim, begann seine musikalische Laufbahn im Alter von vier Jahren. Im Laufe der Jahre erlernte er viele Instrumente wie Gitarre oder Saxophon, aber das Klavier blieb immer das Instrument seiner Wahl. Durch eine klassische Ausbildung erwarb er eine hervorragende Technik und sein Bestreben sich außerhalb der gängigen Konventionen zu bewegen, ließ ihn ständig nach neuen Inspirationen für die eigene künstlerische Entwicklung suchen.

Im Gymnasium spielte er in unterschiedlichen Formationen, dabei konnte er nicht nur Erfahrungen sammeln, sondern auch zu ihrem Repertoire beitragen. Konzerte in seiner Heimatstadt halfen ihm, seine musikalische Reife zu formen.

Biller lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Dort schloss er ein Bachelor-Studium der Musikwissenschaften an der Universität Wien ab, dem er nun einen Master in Musikmanagement an der Donau-Universität Krems und ein weiteres Bachelor Studium Jazz/Pop-Klavier an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst folgen lässt.

Er arbeitet kontinuierlich an seinem Stil und komponiert. Die in seiner Musik zu hörenden Einflüsse sind die schwedische Gruppe e.s.t, das Neil Cowley-Trio oder Avishai Cohen, und er zieht Inspiration aus Jazz, klassischer Musik, Minimal, Filmmusik oder Folk. Virtuose Technik, seine Fähigkeit Minimalismus mit Dynamik und Einfallsreichtum zu verbinden macht ihn zu einem hervorragenden Künstler und Lehrer. Er verknüpft diese beiden Aspekte in seinem beruflichen Leben, engagiert sich in verschiedenen musikalischen Projekten, gibt privaten Klavierunterricht und unterrichtet an der Campanella Music Academy Wien sowie an der Musikschule Klangspiele. Seit 2018 ist er Teil des Lehrerkollegiums der Toro School of Rock (Spanien).

Umtriebig ist er auch in anderen Bereichen und Funktionen der Musikbranche. So ist er seit April 2018 Teil des Organisationskomitees des NYC Musikmarathon Workshops & Festivals in Mattighofen, Österreich.

Im November 2015 veröffentlichte er zwei EPs auf Bandcamp. Erfahrung als Sessionmusiker für Soundtracks machte er unter anderem mit der Arbeit an dem österreichischen Low-Budget Film "Hooker Patrol“. Verschiedene Studienreisen führten ihn zu Workshops wie Jazz bei Tulln, der Jazzwoche Burghausen oder dem Popkulturfestival Berlin und regelmäßige Besuche von Masterclasses bei Pianisten wie Iiro Rantala oder Cory Henry erweitern seinen künstlerischen Horizont. Er ist in der wunderbaren Lage mit internationalen Musikern an unterschiedlichen Plätzen weltweit arbeiten zu dürfen und international aufzutreten (u.a. New York, Istanbul, in Österreich im Musikverein Wien/Muth/Bösendorfer Salon/Musikwerkstatt Wels, in Deutschland im Weserburg Museum Bremen, in Tschechien beim Jazz Brno Festival, in der Slowakei im ÖKF Bratislava, in China im DDC Peking oder der Ningbo New Library etc.). Musikalische Kollaborationen umfassen Künstler und Bands wie Mel Verez, Dezier, Maham Suhail, die Tanja Paucanovic International Band, Philharmonie Wien mit Vijay Upadhyaya, Leaves & Cassis, Sebastian Hesselmann nebst anderen.

Das ihm am meisten am Herzen liegende Projekt ist das Trio PRIM. Im Juli 2016 veröffentlichten sie ihr Debütalbum "More & Less Diminished", das in der Folge sehr positiv rezensiert wurde. Das Album zeige „wie Jazz in Österreich klingen kann und soll" (music-news.at). Ein Jahr später (am 18. Juli 2017) erschien die EP "40 Days". Einladungen zu Festivals umfassen u.a. die jazzahead clubnight Bremen, Jazz Brno oder den NYC Musikmarathon. Anfang September 2019 folgte eine vom Österreichischen Kulturforum Peking und dem Österreichischen Generalkonsulat Shanghai geförderte China-Tournee. Die Band wurde bisher unter anderem in der Ö1 Jazznacht, Radio Styrialounge, Radio Orange 94.0 oder dem tschechischen Sender Radio Proglas gespielt.

Im Mai 2020 erscheint das neue Album des Trios.