Born in Rosenheim, Bavaria (Germany), Felix Biller started his musical education at the age of four. Throughout the years he tackled many instruments, such as guitar and saxophone, but piano has always remained his instrument of choice and mastery. His classical training gave him an excellent technique; his eagerness to experiment and think outside the box makes him search for new inspirations and opportunities for artistic development.

Biller is both an involved learner and dedicated teacher. He graduated from musicology and music management as well as jazz/pop piano with a focus on pedagogy at the University of Music and Performing Arts in the Austrian capital Vienna, where he lives and works. As an educator, he enjoys working with people of different ages and backgrounds, which is made possible through his teaching activities, among others in private settings.

While patient and systematic as a tutor, Biller is ebullient and charismatic as a musician. He is open to new ideas and influences: he believes an improvisation session with a student may be as inspiring as a classical composition by Johann Sebastian Bach. Esbjörn Svensson, the Neil Cowley Trio, Brad Mehldau, The Bad Plus, John Cage and others have all exercised a lasting influence on his compositions. Skillfully combining diverse musical concepts, Biller manages the balancing act between intellect and emotions and his live performances are a delight for both.

His main artistic focus is on his trio PRIM. Their latest album, "Garnet Tales" (2020, Alessa Records), garnered widespread critical acclaim and has been described as “sharp” or “daring” with Biller serving as “the driving force behind this trio that is not afraid of adventurous and improvised jazz” (Jazzflits, NL). Among other things, they received an invitation to the "Central European Jazz Showcase" 2021 in Brno (CZ) as one of the selected ensembles, were picked for the funding program “musik aktuell – neue musik in nö 2023” of the Musikfabrik NÖ and have already been enthusiastically received in many places. Another focus lies on the artistic work with the group LaRisa, founded by the singer Larissa Schwärzler.

Biller also actively supports the music scene in management functions. Since 2018 he is a management team member at the workshop and festival "NYC Musikmarathon" in Mattighofen (Upper Austria) and since 2022 assistant in the artistic management office at the "Wiener Konzerthaus". He is also a frequent guest on radio, TV and other formats worldwide and can be heard there musically (Ö1, Jazz FM, Radio Wroclaw, Radio ARA, KAN in Israel, WartaJazz Indonesia, JazzonPRX in the USA, …). With his composition "Demon Crazy?" he was a finalist at the "Austrian Composers Young Jazz Award 2022". His musical activities, which have taken him, among others, across Europe (Austria, Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Poland, ...), to Turkey, the USA or China, also include collaborations with choirs such as the choir of the "Philharmonie Wien", masterclasses and workshops (e.g. "Pop-Kultur Nachwuchs" Berlin 2017 and "Intl. Jazz Platform Footprints Edition 2022" Lodz), concerts at both national and international festivals (e.g. Pop-Kultur-Festival Berlin, Jazz Fest Wiesen, jazzahead! CLUBNIGHT Bremen, Jazzfestival Steyr, Lublin Jazz Festival, Mladí Ladí Jazz) and in various venues (e.g. Porgy & Bess Vienna, Musikverein Vienna, Jazz Dock Prague, Prulček Ljubljana, DDC Beijing, Time Beacon Ningbo) as well as film scoring (e.g. “Allesandersplatz” 2020 by Isis Rampf with co-composer Christoph Karas and its premiere at the “achtung berlin Filmfestival” 2021 including a nomination in the section "Berlin Spotlights").

Felix Biller, geboren im bayerischen Rosenheim (Deutschland), begann seine musikalische Ausbildung im Alter von vier Jahren. Im Laufe der Jahre erlernte er viele Instrumente wie Gitarre und Saxofon, aber das Klavier blieb immer sein Instrument der Wahl und Meisterschaft. Durch seine klassische Ausbildung erwarb er eine hervorragende Technik; seine Experimentierfreudigkeit und sein Bestreben sich außerhalb der gängigen Konventionen zu bewegen, lässt ihn nach neuen Inspirationen und Möglichkeiten für die eigene künstlerische Entwicklung suchen.

Biller ist ein engagierter Lerner und Lehrer zugleich. Er graduierte in Musikwissenschaft und Musikmanagement sowie Jazz-/Popklavier mit Schwerpunkt Pädagogik an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in der österreichischen Hauptstadt Wien, wo er lebt und arbeitet. Als Pädagoge arbeitet er gerne mit Menschen unterschiedlichen Alters und Hintergrunds, was ihm durch seine Lehrtätigkeiten, unter anderem in privatem Rahmen, ermöglicht wird.

Während Biller als Lehrer geduldig ist und systematisch arbeitet, ist er als Musiker überschwänglich und charismatisch. Er ist offen für neue Ideen und Einflüsse: Er ist der Meinung, dass eine Improvisationssession mit einem Schüler ebenso inspirierend sein kann wie eine klassische Komposition von Johann Sebastian Bach. Esbjörn Svensson, das Neil Cowley Trio, Brad Mehldau, The Bad Plus, John Cage und Andere dienen als Inspirationsquellen für seine Kompositionen. Durch die gekonnte Verbindung verschiedenster musikalischer Auffassungen gelingt Biller der Drahtseilakt zwischen Intellekt und Emotionen und seine Live-Auftritte sind eine wahre Freude für beides.

Sein künstlerischer Hauptfokus liegt auf seinem 2015 gegründeten Trio PRIM. Ihr aktuelles Album, "Garnet Tales" (2020, Alessa Records), erntete begeisterte Kritiken mit Beschreibungen wie „scharfsinnig“ oder „kühn“. Biller wird dabei als „die treibende Kraft hinter diesem, sich nicht vor abenteuerlichem und improvisiertem Jazz scheuenden, Trio“ (Jazzflits, NL) porträtiert. Die Band wurde u.a. als eines der auserwählten Ensembles zum "Central European Jazz Showcase" 2021 in Brno (CZ) eingeladen, für das Förderprogramm "musik aktuell - neue musik in NÖ 2023" der Musikfabrik NÖ ausgewählt und bereits vielerorts begeistert empfangen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt auf der künstlerischen Arbeit mit der, von der Sängerin Larissa Schwärzler gegründeten, Gruppe LaRisa.

Darüber hinaus unterstützt er die Musikszene aktiv in Managementfunktionen. Er ist seit 2018 Mitglied im Management des Workshops und Festivals "NYC Musikmarathon" in Mattighofen (Oberösterreich) und seit 2022 Assistent im künstlerischen Betriebsbüro am „Wiener Konzerthaus“. Weiterhin ist er ein vielfacher Gast bei Radios, TV und anderen Formaten weltweit sowie dort musikalisch zu hören (Ö1, Jazz FM, Radio Wroclaw, Radio ARA, KAN in Israel, WartaJazz in Indonesien, JazzonPRX in den USA, …). Mit seiner Komposition "Demon Crazy?" war er Finalist beim "Austrian Composers Young Jazz Award 2022". Zu seinen musikalischen Aktivitäten, die ihn unter anderem quer durch Europa (Österreich, Deutschland, Tschechien, Slowakei, Slowenien, Polen, ...), in die Türkei, die USA oder nach China führten, zählen auch Kollaborationen mit Chören wie dem Chor der "Philharmonie Wien", Masterclasses und Workshops (u.a. "Pop-Kultur Nachwuchs" Berlin 2017 und "Intl. Jazz Platform Footprints Edition 2022" Lodz), Konzerte auf sowohl nationalen als auch internationalen Festivals (u.a. Pop-Kultur-Festival Berlin, Jazz Fest Wiesen, jazzahead! CLUBNIGHT Bremen, Jazzfestival Steyr, Lublin Jazz Festival, Mladí Ladí Jazz) und in diversen Venues (u.a. Porgy & Bess Wien, Musikverein Wien, Jazz Dock Prag, Prulček Ljubljana, DDC Peking, Time Beacon Ningbo) sowie Filmmusik (z.B. „Allesandersplatz“ 2020 von Isis Rampf mit Co-Komponist Christoph Karas und Premiere auf dem „achtung berlin Filmfestival“ 2021 inklusive einer Nominierung in der Sektion "Berlin Spotlights").